St Wolfgangs Church, Essenbach, Bavaria, Germany

Charles Kenwright

St Wolfgangs Church, Essenbach, Bavaria, Germany
copyright: charles kenwright/ http://www.openmind-images.com

As anyone who follows my blog will know, I often publish dark, moody black and white landscapes. This church, St. Wolfgang, stands on the top of a hill just outside of the small Lower Bavarian village of Essenbach. I deliberately went up there yesterday at dusk to capture the wintery dark timeless mood. I´ve often seen this church as I´ve driven north along the trunk road which heads up north, and for me it was either a full summer shot, with crops in the fields, leaves in the trees and blue skies with clouds or something more moody. I could also imagine it with huge thunder clouds building up behind it.

There has been a chapel on this spot since at least the 14th century and it stands on a pilgrim´s path. The small wooden building in front of the church is a “Klause”, which in this context means a place of refreshment – in Bavaria, typically that means beer and simple food.

As an aside I´ve included a mobile phone shot of my standpoint

Charles Kenwright

St Wolfgangs Church, Essenbach, Bavaria, Germany
copyright: charles kenwright/ http://www.openmind-images.com

4 thoughts on “St Wolfgangs Church, Essenbach, Bavaria, Germany

Leave a Reply

