YouTube – A Poem

YouTube

YouTube – A Poem
copyright: charles kenwright/ http://www.openmind-images.com

I´ve been working on this poem for a while now, anyway, I think it´s just about ready.

YouTube

Those Minstrels singing for Daisy and us
Brothers and sister squeezed on a sofa made for three
A product of post war utility
Billy´s wake up call too late
For Cliff´s missed note
Russ´s smile just for me
His missing finger a proof of his dexterity

YouTube shows my past, museum like
In it´s glass case flow images randomly
Like my memory, sometimes grey
Then, vivid and vibrant
And, like my memory, with no apparent sense
The links, synaptic quick
Lead me on, into the past

Kenneth More, having sunk the Bismarck
Now drinks tea with Irene Forsyte
Guinness sheds his Fagin for Smiley
As quickly as I my youth
Those photons trapped in YouTube aspic
Almost-Family once warm and commonplace
I now use to light those rooms shared
With some now dead or spread
´Cross the world and half a century

The once normal, once everyday
I know look upon as known and strange
It was me, us, and as I spring
Through years with finger-on-mouse-ease
I see us change
And vanish

6 thoughts on “YouTube – A Poem

Leave a Reply

