New Video and Workshop

It´s been a busy time recently, hence the gap in posting here. Last Saturday I held my first photography workshop here in Landshut, it was hosted by a local photography store, Foto Petzold. The subject was abstract city photography. It went well and I had a load of fun leading it – hopefully the four participants did too! I´ll be presenting this workshop twice next year – I´ll posting more details about it soon.

I´ve just finished quite a challenging video project. An electricity supplier has built a new fish ladder which runs between two hydro power station on the River Isar here in Lower Bavaria. Kerstin Erbe and I had the job of documenting the path of fish along it, from it´s beginning at the hydro power plant at Niederaichbach to their exit at Altheim. This video has a number of firsts for me. Firstly it´s the first time I´ve used my Nikon D800 for a complete video. That entailed buying a new camera rig with follow focus and production monitor. I was really pleased with the results from it. Secondly, because we also wanted underwater footage of the fish swimming against the current, I bought a GoPro Hero 4. This worked well and shooting at 2.7K allowed me room in the edit to do some zooming and pans. The water tight case that comes with it was excellent and when placed on the extra pole, got me into a few interesting corners. The big third were the drone shots! Yes    I´ve now got a DJI Phantom 3 Pro Drone. That was a real quantum leap for me, involving a pretty steep learning curve! Anyway, after a few piloting problems, I got the hang of it pretty quickly. I´m still pretty cautious with my flying though and am keeping it simple. This can film up to 4k video as well as taking stills. I´m really pleased with it and can recommend it. Here is the link to my video on Vimeo, I hope you enjoy it!

5 thoughts on “New Video and Workshop

  1. A steep learning curve…and who would know it was only your first and a new meaning to above and below! As an aside I will just say I am still struggling with my 800 results, but find my 600 (since Nikon fitted a new shutter and hardware great) but love my Df best of all.

Leave a Reply

