Wind Turbine Soundscape

A few months ago I visited the new wind turbine that´s been erected near where I live. Visually   it´s obviously eye catching, but what really caught my attention were the noises emanating from it, so I decided to return not just armed with my photographic gear, but also my sound recording equipment too. To capture the sound I used a stereo microphone set to 120 degrees, a shotgun microphone and a contact microphone. The contact microphone was attached to various parts of the structure – most of the sounds picked up by the contact microphone were generated by the turbine but a few were caused by me either striking or stroking the structure. I then edited the sounds together, some of them have been slightly manipulated. This is best heard with either good speakers or headphones.

5 thoughts on “Wind Turbine Soundscape

Leave a Reply

